Category: States of India On April 26, By Karan Malhotra Please find below the list of states and union-territories (along with their capital) of India. Don't forget to download this complete list of Indian States and Capitals in PDF. The state of Jammu and Kashmir has two capitals – Jammu as Winter Capital. States and Union Territories. Andhra Pradesh(Hyderabad) Arunachal Pradesh(Itanagar) Assam(Dispur) Bihar(Patna) Chhattisgarh(Raipur) Goa(Panaji) Gujarat(Gandhinagar) Haryana(Chandigarh).


Author: Idell Donnelly
Country: Chad
Language: English
Genre: Education
Published: 12 September 2014
Pages: 466
PDF File Size: 17.28 Mb
ePub File Size: 31.50 Mb
ISBN: 738-7-47716-793-2
Downloads: 88688
Price: Free
Uploader: Idell Donnelly


Getty Images Ima Keithal market in Imphal is probably the world's only all-women run marketplace. In Manipuri, Ima means mother and Keithal means market, so it is known as 'Mothers market' Only married women are allowed to trade and run the stalls in this multi-ethnic year-old marketplace, a privilege that is passed on from one generation of Manipuri women to the another.

Meghalaya state and capital list of india Shillong General view of the hills, the caves, the waterfalls, the streams of Shillong, India. Getty Images Shillong, the capital of Meghalaya, is the only hill station that is accessible from all sides.

List of state and union territory capitals in India

Init became the capital of composite Assam under British rule Inafter the formation of Meghalaya as an independent state, Shillong became its capital Mizoram - Aizawl Artist from Mizoram state performs a bamboo dance on the second day of the state annual Hornbill Festival in Kohima.

Getty Images Aizawl is the political and cultural centre of Mizoram. It is here that the State Legislature is situated It is also the commercial hub of the state and all commercial and economic activities are centered around the city. Nagaland - Kohima A Jhum cultivation field is state and capital list of india amidst green forest at State and capital list of india, India northeastern state of Nagaland.

Getty Images Kohima is the land of the Angami Naga tribe The name, Kohima, was officially given by the British as they could not pronounce the Angami name Kewhima or Kewhira, which comes from the Kewhi flowers, which are found all around in the mountains Earlier, Kohima was also known as Thigoma.

Getty Images Chandigarh as a Union Territory was constituted on November 1,when the Indian Punjab was reorganised along linguistic lines into two new states- Haryana and Punjab Straddled between Haryana and Punjab, the city of Chandigarh was made the shared capital of the two states and of the Union Territory itself.

Getty Images The name Gangtok is derived from a Tibetan word, which means 'hilltop' or 'top of the hill' With the presence of several monasteries, centres for tibetology and religious educational institutions, Gangtok is a famous centre of Tibetan Buddhist culture.


Getty Images Chennai, formerly known as Madras Patnam, is years old. From a stretch of no man's land init has grown to become a major industrial, business and cultural centre Chennai Corporation initially called as Madras municipal corporation is the oldest Municipal Corporation in India established in Getty Images Telangana was constituted as the 29th state of India on June 2, Hyderabad was the joint capital of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh until Now, Hyderabad is only the capital of Telangana.

Tripura - Agartala The Goddess in the hills of Unokoti seen carved state and capital list of india the rock hosts an ancient Shaivite place of worship with huge rock reliefs celebrating Shiva. Getty Images Agartala is a component of two words -- namely Agar, a kind of oily valuable perfume tree and tala, a storehouse The percentage of literacy in Agartala, according to census, was Getty Images Dehradun is mentioned in the Ramayana and Mahabharata in the ancient puranic stories making it one of the oldest cities of India Dehradun is also called as the Abode of Guru Drona The Central Braille Press in Dehradun is the largest producer of Braille textbooks in State and capital list of india.

Interesting facts about 29 Indian states and 7 Union Territories with their capitals

West Bengal - State and capital list of india A tram, decorated with pictures of the legendary singer and actor Kishore Kumar moving through various parts of the city in Kolkata, India. Later, Delhi was made the capital of India State and capital list of india the city's name was officially changed from Calcutta to Kolkata.

A legacy of the Raj, Kolkata is one of the fewest cities in the world to have retained the tradition of Tram Though these are slowly rumbling into history, but Trams continue to fascinate many, including travelers from other cities Birla Planetarium in Kolkata is the largest planetarium in Asia and second largest in the world.

Kolkata is the only city to have hand-pulled rickshaws in India Now let's take a look at Union Territories and their capitals 1. The largest sea turtles in the world, Dermocheleys Coriacea, nest in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands The scenery on our red coloured 20 rupee note depicts a natural scene on the Andaman and Nicobar islands The only state and capital list of india volcano in India is present in Andaman 2.

States and Capitals of India Map, List of Total 29 States and Capitals of India

Chandigarh - Chandigarh 3. Dadra is surrounded by the state of Gujarat, and Nagar Haveli lies on the borders of Maharashtra and Gujarat It was a Portuguese colony till and became a part of Independent India in Tillit was self-governing and operated independently.

Daman and Diu - Daman Goa, Daman, and Diu were incorporated into the Republic of India state and capital list of india December 19,by military conquest The territory of Goa, 'Daman, and Diu' was state and capital list of india as a single union territory untilwhen Goa was granted statehood, leaving Daman and Diu as a separate union territory.

However, INS Deeprakashak was commissioned in the year Puducherry Pondicherry - Pondicherry Earlier the name of this territory was Pondicherry. It was changed to Puducherry on September 20, Puducherry is better known as the 'White town' Puducherry celebrates Independence Day on August 16, while the rest of the nation celebrates it on August 15 The former capital to Puducherry was Madras.


Interested in General Knowledge and Current Affairs? Click here to stay informed and know what is happening around the world with our G. To get more updates on Current Affairs, send in your query by mail to education.

Indian States and Capitals – GK in PDF

An administrative capital is one where all the offices of the executive government are situated. A legislative capital is the one where the state assembly convenes. A judicial capital is the one where the territorial high courts are located.

Related Post